Moon shots

There was a day-shy of a full moon over Tacloban City the other evening. Just as we stepped out of the SMED Center in the early evening dusk, I saw the large, white moon. I momentarily tried to observe if it was turning into orange or yellow, but no, it wasn’t. As we were in a hurry, I just was able to take the shots shown below.

I’m sure many of you (me included) have tried photographing the moon with a point & shoot camera and ending up with a roundish white speck in the middle of the sky that doesn’t look anything like the moon!

Moon photography is not quite simple as it seems. Try to google “moon photography” in the internet and you’ll see a lot of sites offering tips and tons of technical advise on how to shoot it. There’s even a site which would tell you ALL the technical settings for your camere for a particular time and date and your location on Earth!

Being the brightest object in the night sky, the moon is not an easy subject to photograph. What makes it difficult is the fact that it is a sun-lit object and the fact that it’s pretty far away. 😦

During the non-digital era of film, great photographs of landscapes showing the glorious moon often involved double-exposures – first of the evening landscape then later of the moon alone. Magic is done in the dark room.

As I was in a rush, I was unable to properly take a landscape nightshot of the vicinity with the moon. No doubt that has been added to my growing list of photography to-do’s. 🙂




~ by gerryruiz on 21 April 2008.

9 Responses to “Moon shots”

  1. great photos!

    hope to see you there in Tacloban! i’ll be there jun 28-30 for the pintados-kasadyaan

  2. Hi Eric! Thanks for dropping by.

    Just so you’ll know, please note that the latest I’ve heard is that the Pintados-Kasadyaan will no longer be held on Jun 29 but on Jun 27. Instead, on Jun 29 there will be the inaugural staging of the Pagsangyaw Festival, organized by the city government and the group of hermanas/hermanos of the Tacloban Fiesta Celebration. It will showcase Tacloban City’s official “festival” contingent which will represent the city from hereon in all future tribal & fiesta festivals in the country. Also expected to attend this inaugural Pagsangyaw are contingents coming from other major cities (Makati, Manila, Cebu, etc.) invited by Tacloban Mayor Alfred Romualdez.

  3. wow, why the change?

  4. Hi Solo, read more about this at
    http://callez.proboards92.com/index.cgi?action=display&board=commnewsevents&thread=46

  5. Wow! I am a moon lover and this photo just amazes me. I have to ask you for tips on how you achieved this ( if it’s not a trade secret :-)… Coincidentally, we have the same cameras – both the Canon and the Sony… You don’t know me but I am a Taclobanon too and am the other half of Libro. I am really looking forward to my visit in July, especially when I look at the photos you posted…. thanks again for the essays accompanying the beautiful shots. It’s great to be updated on Tacloban events. 🙂

  6. Hi Graes, that’s a great coincidence, I mean having the same cameras! No, there’s no trade secret involved in the moon shots I took – here’s how I did it: Using the 40D and the EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM mounted on a tripod, I set the mode to P or Program (I was in a bit of a rush, like I said), auto-focused and fired away. ISO set to auto, the camera chose 400. Exposure made was at 1/500 sec at f/5.0 at a max focal length of 200 mm. I later enhanced and cropped the photos using Photoshop; basic editing involved levels adjustments. Oh, I usually set my file size at jpeg Fine or Smooth & Large.

  7. Thanks for that! Very technical but I plan to learn the technical aspect of photography anyhow.. Para naman di sayang ang capabilities of the SLR if I just use it for point and shoot. 🙂

  8. you have to teach me how to do that, pops 😀

  9. Hi, Nani, dear 🙂 Yes, do call my attention next time a full moon is up. I hope my lunatic tendency doesn’t show up, too hehehe 😉

Leave a Reply

 
