UP Diliman Revisited: A quick, rolling tour of past haunts

It was a quick, passing thru.

See, my brother in law got this one-month old Sta. Fe SUV still needing more break-in miles. So where do you wanna go? he goes.

Hey, how about tripping back memory lane?!

Great! Let’s visit Molave!

Molave Residence Hall – or “Prison” Hall – in the University of the Philippines, Diliman, QC campus was where I spent some five years of my college life. It was my second home for what seemed like a looonng period of time. Since officially graduating in 1979, I have rarely been back to the campus. Been back only a couple of times. And to Molave maybe only 2 or 3 times…

My reluctance to revisit stems mainly from my trying to avoid being reminded of past disappointments and frustrations, of what-if’s and what-could have-been’s. Arduous and trying times. But, sure, there were definitely good times, too… and I’m being kinder to myself now hehe😉

My Alma Mater…

Molave Residence Hall, where I spent a good 5 years of my 8 years in college! Haha!

Palma Hall – College of Arts & Sciences or “AS” as we called it then.

UP Institute of Mass Communication (UP-IMC) now called College of Mass Communication.

The UP Carillon, now called Carillon Tower/Carillon Plaza.

Photos taken 14 January 2010.

View full gallery: http://gerryruiz.callezaragosa.com/p452851643

View slideshow: http://gerryruiz.callezaragosa.com/p452851643/slideshow

~ by gerryruiz on 6 February 2010.

3 Responses to “UP Diliman Revisited: A quick, rolling tour of past haunts”

  1. Thanks for the memory, Gerry. I was there 1971 till Martial Law in ’72. I used to live with the Cervantes’ at the back of the UP Infirmary.

  2. I felt homesick for UP!

  3. One of these days when I am nearby, I will bring my old camera and shoot up the place.

Leave a Reply

 
