It was a very good year!

80321-sanpedro-w-5650

Above, Kitchie, the family pet, swimming (with a life vest!) at San Pedro Island in Hinunangan, Southern Leyte.

The holidays are over and it’s time to reflect on the year that was. Looking back at 2008, I can confidently say it was a very good year.🙂

I beg for your indulgence now and allow me to reflect and count the blessings I had for the year just passed.

In summary, I was able to visit and take pictures of several must-see places, among them: Canigao Island, Tabango, Biliran, Calbayog, Dagami, Abuyog and Hinunangan in Eastern Visayas; the Ilocos Region, Baguio, Palawan, Malapascua, Cebu; Bohol; Bislig, Surigao; and Davao; and, overseas – Beijing, Singapore and a brief visit to Malaysia.

I couldn’t be more thankful and blessed for all these travel and photography opportunities. Aside from these, there was the meeting of new friends and photo hobbyists and bloggers, and new photography gigs as well. Photoshoots with the newly-founded leysamfoto photography group were numerous, including some sports coverages (Carrera Habagat and PBA), weddings, as well as some pop-rock concerts.

The year also saw me getting to use a few new photography gear, including migrating to a new computer system (a Macbook), and honing on one’s photography skills including fine-tuning and adopting some new post-processing techniques.

There is still much to learn, no question about it, and certainly much more to yearn for, specially in the area of additional camera lenses (whew! pricey, no doubt), and visiting and covering distant places we’ve never been to.

I will continue to shoot photos while I am given these opportunities and share them here with you all.

For all these blessings I am very much thankful to the heavens above, to friends and clients alike, and to you, our readers and followers of this blog who have continually provided me with such an enormous source of inspiration to continue taking photos.

And, yes, I am thankful for a very-much loving and supportive wife and family behind me. They have come to realize and appreciate (embraced it, too) this all-consuming passion called photography.

Cheers to all! And I pray for all the best for 2009!

~ by gerryruiz on 6 January 2009.

7 Responses to “It was a very good year!”

  1. very well said gerry. kudos!

  2. You have a God-given gift, Gerry. We are blessed by what you do.

  3. Happy New year to you and your family. Thank you for sending me all those beautiful photos last year. I admire your passion in photography and I congratulate you for your success in that field. In my case, I thank God for all the blessings He has bestowed upon me, my children and grandchildren.
    God Bless….

  4. gerry, thanks again for the inspiring pictures. happy new year.

  5. keep it up in 2009 and the years to come kuya gerry…btw, cute puppy…hehehe

  6. Thanks, Bo!🙂

Leave a Reply

 
