Baguio City: A brief visit to Guido Country

When a fraternity batchmate of mine, Guido Cañero ’73 casually extended to me an invite to join him on his trip back to his chosen home hideaway, I was actually more than halfway decided already to say ‘yes’. But I had to bid for time as I made sure my itinerary was laid out and arranged just fine for my last two remaining days in Metro-Manila. So after making the necessary arrangements, I found myself with Guido boarding a luxurious Victory Liner bus at 1 o’clock in the morning, Monday, January 14 for a 7-hour trip to Baguio, the Summer Capital of the Philippines.

I have always loved going up to Baguio – the place holds strong memories for me, from my first visit way back when I was still in high school to recent trips with my family. But it had been years since my last visit, hence this trip was kind of truly exciting for me.

Two hundred fifty kilometers north of Metro-Manila up in the Cordillera mountains lies Baguio, also known as City of Pines or City of Flowers, on a plateau 1,400 meters above sea level. Cold. What a respite!

To surmise, it was a whirlwind visit. We arrived in Baguio at 7 o’clock in the chilly morning. By 12 midnight I was on my way back to Manila arriving at the Pasay bus terminal at 6AM, January 15, with more than enough time to spare for my 1:45PM flight for home, Tacloban City.

It was one memorable and truly enjoyable sortie I’ve ever had in a long time! Here are some of the photos I took.

80114-baguio-w5229.jpg

Above, the view from Guido’s flat.

80114-baguio-w5311.jpg

Baguio Cathedral

80114-baguio-w5407.jpg

Session Road

80114-baguio-w5336.jpg

Burnham Park

80114-baguio-w5499.jpg

80114-baguio-w5484.jpg

Fresh fruits and vegetables at the Baguio Public Market.

For more photos, click here.

~ by gerryruiz on 25 January 2008.

13 Responses to “Baguio City: A brief visit to Guido Country”

  1. i miss baguio! let’s go back there, pops!😉

  2. sure! next time we find ourselves in Manila for a vacation, baguio has to be in the itinerary🙂

  3. these photos present the city in a light so charming, the world’s best mountain resorts will find hard pressed to match.

  4. gerry,
    nice to come across your site…better yet i’m quite elated as i’ve been wanting to touch base with guido canero who was my childhood friend. we went to la salle greenhills but i was a batch or 2 younger. i would truly be grateful if you can share with me his email address or better yet give him mine. it is hc_diaz @ hotmail.com. thanks for your kindness.
    howard diaz (seattle, wa u.s.a.)

  5. Howard, thanks for visiting. Unfortunately, Guido has opted to shun the hi-tech way – he rarely uses a PC and when he ever does, it’s the wifey who does the thing for him. His only gadget is an old 3210 Nokia phone hehe😦 I gave him your email ad.

  6. gerry,
    you are a scholar and a true gentleman. let guido or his wifey know i’m very excited to be in touch with them. gosh it was such a long time. guido and i also worked together for a little bit (right after college). also in our younger days we played quite a bit of basketball. in our elementary days, guido’s family rented a house at my grandparent’s compound in QC. that how we really had gotten close…just like brothers. he has an older brother nabs (dont know if you ever met him. anyways, i also would like to commend you for your great work. you have the artist’s eye…
    if anything, pls visit my website at multiply.com under howard j. diaz. cheers!

  7. Howard, you are a kind man.🙂 Thanks a lot for your very encouraging words.

    I sent you Guido’s mobile by PM. Call him.🙂

    BTW, in case you still haven’t seen them, view more photos of Guido and the rest of the brods here:
    https://gerryruiz.wordpress.com/2008/01/21/upsilon-fellowship/

    Cheers!

  8. Hello Friends,

    Thanks a lot for your nice share about Baguio, the photos are pretty good too,

    I am not a Filipino but I have been to Baguio about two years ago during my travel to Philippines.That’s absolutely great.Now, I have my own web site and I wrıte about my travels.I have just published a new article about Baguio.I have written also two more articles about Philippines and there will be more soon.I’d like to get some Filipino friends’ comments on my article.Here’s the link:

    http://www.mytripolog.com/2009/04/baguio-the-cool-city-in-philippines/

  9. ung patatas ba sa baguio yan???

  10. Sir Gerry, I’m just curious which fraternity you belong to. May I know it sir?

Leave a Reply

 
