Me and Adobe

My interest with Adobe programs or softwares started in 1998 when I was convinced by a good friend, Ed Costibolo of Bistro Uno to join the Rotary Club of San Juanico. He was the incoming club president then and he wanted me to handle the task of doing the weekly club bulletin. I remember something lighting up over at the top of my head when he elaborated on the invite – it meant having the opportunity (or being challenged) to study and learn a PC-based software about desktop publication. Wow.

THAT introduced me to Adobe Pagemaker. Self-study. That made me editor-in-chief of the weekly club’s publication for five years (yes, 5 straight years in a thankless job, hehe). And that started the whole thing with Adobe, taking me from Pagemaker (w/ its various versions) to Adobe InDesign, to Photoshop to Adobe Premiere Pro (I’m frustrated on this) to Creative Suite; with all its various versions over the years. And now there’s Adobe Lightroom, which is a photographer’s delight! (Can’t go more on this now; maybe next time.)

I do not claim to have mastered all of them; fact is, truth to tell, I feel I’m only using 1/3 of the resources of Photoshop, for instance, not to mention about the other Adobe programs of which I know lesser of. Photoshop is a very powerful tool; it’s the industry’s standard. Until now, I’m only newly-discovering old tools and techniques that have always been there, available all these years!

Take the following example below. Last night, out of nowhere, I decided to click on Photoshop’s filter tab, then on others and tried out high pass… Exactly what Photoshop did I do not know! But here’s the result:

img_5170-miki-ew.jpg

I guess I should have dug deeper into the help section right then to know more about that filter. But I was just too tired. Besides, it was already 2:30 in the morning. Maybe next time…

  • Photo of Miki and Ludette taken March 2007 at a suite at Club Ultima, Jones Ave., Cebu City. Noise is bad, I know, but I like it.

~ by gerryruiz on 6 November 2007.

2 Responses to “Me and Adobe”

  1. Congrats Gerry! Excellent photos as seen from your artistic eye and taken from the much-acclaimed Canon EOS digital SLR system. I would like to learn sometime how you enhanced the pictures using the new Adobe softwares. I am also a dormant photography buff.

  2. Thank you, Mar! I’m pretty sure you’d easily take to Adobe programs like a fish to the sea! I didn’t know you were a dormant photography buff. In any case, it’s never too late to get unto the wagon.🙂

Leave a Reply

 
