Mabuhay Magazine Sept issue

It was in late July ’07 I think when I met Jun Ventura, the editor-in-chief of Mabuhay Magazine – PAL’s domestic & international inflight mag, during one of the regular fellowship meetings of the Rotary Club of Leyte Gulf where he was the keynote speaker. Being a PP myself has its perks (PP being “Past President” of the Rotary Club of San Juanico) – I was introduced to Jun first before the meeting formally started and we managed to exchange small talk, among them happily knowing we both share the same alma mater – UP Diliman. He was then on a data gathering venture for his next project – a feature on Eastern Visayas. Due to lack of material time, could it be possible – he asked me – if I could do a brief, brief write-up on Biliran Province, one of the places he could no longer squeeze in into his tight itinerary?

To make a long story short, after sending him a few days later a brief write-up intended as a sidebar, I was pleasantly rewarded when he sent me by courier a copy of Mabuhay’s September issue containing my write-up (w/ a by-line at that!) and a small photo I submitted!

I know September is just about to end, but if you guys happen to take PAL in the next few, remaining days of the month, check out Jun’s feature story on Eastern Visayas entitled “Taking the Road Less Traveled.”

How I wish I’ve met Jun earlier – I would have wanted to share some of my photos of Eastern Visayas! But, as he himself mentions it in his story – it’s one place (E. Visayas) he wouldn’t mind going back to at all.🙂

~ by gerryruiz on 25 September 2007.

4 Responses to “Mabuhay Magazine Sept issue”

  1. Thanks for putting up this website. It is a great service to all Leytenos and Samarenos worldwide who want to see real-time images of what’s happening in their beloved provinces. The shots are beautiful and teach all of us where to look for our islands’ most positive features.

  2. My pleasure, really, Jerome! Glad to be of service to our kababayans, specially those now residing overseas.

  3. Hi Gerry! I have that copy of PAL’s inflight magazine since I flew PAL’s Flt 107 Vancouver-MNL last September. I’m collecting Mabuhay Magazine issues for Philippine islands and beaches features. Thanks to PAL Vancouver Airport office staff for my monthly copy. Keep up the great work on Eastern Visayas tourism promotions!

    Raoul Vecina (aircanada,vancouver)

  4. hi sir. congrats. i’m a writer myself and i would just like to know how i can also write for mabuhay magazine. i’ve tried calling eastgate publishing’s number but no one seems to be answering calls. thanks and Godbless!

Leave a Reply

 
