Calanggaman Island: Prelude to Summer 2011

Whew!

Calanggaman Island.

Finally!

I first heard about this island in the late 90’s when the family used to spend Holy Week at Duwahon Island in Villaba, Leyte. I remember Jun Burgos, a close friend, mention Calanggaman but not without a forewarning – the island, he said, is farther west and crossing can be dangerous during non-summer months when the sea gets rough. Moreover, the island is bare, with hardly any vegetation or trees for shade; no water source, nothing but white sand and crystal clear waters around it. Jun hastened to add, Calanggaman then was a mere stop-over point for fishermen…

On two occasions on a trip to Malapascua, Cebu (first, coming from Villaba and on the second trip, from Tabango, Leyte) the pumpboat we took passed by near Calanggaman, but not that close – all I was able to see from afar was the white sand, and yes, there was vegetation after all – a couple of coconut trees.

Years later, I would hear stories about more and more camping enthusiasts able to get to Calanggaman and they all had common things to say: Paradise. Unspoiled and crystal clear waters. White powdery sand.

I was full of envy.

I knew it, though, that someday I would have the chance to see for myself Calanggaman.

And the day finally came, unplanned like out of nowhere, and I was invited to go with an assessment team commissioned by the Department of Tourism Head Office from Manila to go visit the island.

We went there yesterday, Tuesday, February 22, 2011.

Indeed, the island is simply beautiful.

CONTINUE READING >>>

~ by gerryruiz on 23 February 2011.

3 Responses to “Calanggaman Island: Prelude to Summer 2011”

  1. Great shots of a beautiful place. I like how you managed to capture the fine details of both the sky and the ground/water.

  2. I am really hoping I get the chance to drop by at this beautiful island in two week’s time… I’ll be in Malapascua from 16-19…

  3. i’m so envious… we were planning to spend our vacation at this place. hopefully we’ll be able to… ^_^

Leave a comment